Click Here For More Info On IDE!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM EST)

benji boko beats treats and all things unique 0

Benji Boko: Beats, Treats And All Things Unique

Price: $12.99
Add to cart

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterEmail This

    Product Details


    'Beats, Treats & All Things Unique' is the debut album by fast rising star Benji Boko. With a diverse roster of collaborators including Maxi Jazz (Faithless), Ricky Rankin (Banana Klan) and Boko's seven-year-old cousin, who you'll hear on Intro and Outro duties, the album is out on 20th June on Tru Thoughts, preceded by the single "Where My Heart is" featuring Maxi Jazz in May.

    An innovative, energetic DJ and producer, Benji Boko is the boy from Brighton with the big hair and the split personality (...his alter-ego is a hyperactive purple monkey...) whose larger-than-life DJ presence and amazing mixing skills are matched by his creative prowess as a producer and beat-maker. Boko's musical spark was initially ignited by the eclectic selection of records to be found in the second-hand shops and flea markets of his home city; this appetite for all types of music is combined with an appreciation and talent for sound and sample manipulation, and a habit of sliding into highly visualised forays of imagination. His fresh, melodic, slightly twisted hip hop-infused pop is as much influenced by Beardyman, DJ Yoda, Fatboy Slim and The Neptunes as it is by cartoons, Peter Sellers, Monty Python and fairytales.

    The album explores a wide spectrum of influences, and yields an equally diverse selection of sounds; from the deep, evocative beat of the single which is complemented by Maxi Jazz's inimitable soul-felt vocals, through the hypnotic instrumental track, "Glider". Then at the other extreme - more in line with the relentless energy of his DJ set - is "No. 1 Sound", which has a really 'live' vibe, as Ricky Rankin freestyled the whole thing. Dotted around the album are a host of little skits, each with its own charm, including "I Had A Dream (Mini Obama)", inspired by a fortune-telling vinyl record found in a charity shop. "Benji Bolognese" is like a journey that hops from place to place and hooks you along for the ride; says Boko, "it's exactly what it's like living in my head...loads of ideas, getting distracted very easily and quickly...ha...this sentence has taken me about 20 minutes to write as I was just distracted watching Kermit the frog eat Vincent Price on YouTube".

    Track Listing

    1. Intro
    2. Glider
    3. Where My Heart Is
    featuring Maxi Jazz
    4. I Had A Dream (Mini Obama) (Skit)
    5. Bokomania
    6. The Eagle
    featuring Deuce Eclipse
    7. Screw That!
    8. A Big Star From Nuffink (Skit)
    9. No. 1 Sound
    featuring Ricky Rankin
    10. Benji Bolognese
    11. Charuuna
    12. Moveaboutalot (Skit)
    13. Take A Stand
    14. Slow Junkie
    15. Have a Little Tired Time (Skit)
    16. Supernova
    17. Lights
    18. Outro
    featuring Mr Louis
    19. Touch The Ceiling With Your Toes

    More Items From: Benji Boko & Tru Thoughts Recordings

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 days after processing.
    Priority: 2 to 3 days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated 3 to 4 days after processing (shipments under 16 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated 4 to 6 days after processing.
    Flat Rate: Estimated 2 to 7 days (varies based on location) after processing.

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2016, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.