Click Here For More Info On The Reks Album!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-262-0200 STORE FRONT: 234 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115 (Tues-Sat 12PM-8PM)

dennis coffey dennis coffey
dennis coffey dennis coffeydennis coffey dennis coffey

Dennis Coffey: Dennis Coffey

Vinyl LP Record [2LP]
List Price:$26.98
You Save:$2.01 (7%)
Add to cart

Usually ships within 4 business days.
Not available for in-store pick-up

  • w/ Bonus Album Digital Download
  • Gatefold
    Other Formats:
  • CD $14.97

Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

Product Details


Strut are proud to announce a priority release for 2011, the new studio album by Detroit guitar legend, Dennis Coffey. Guitarist of choice for major artists as diverse as Del Shannon, Funkadelic and The Temptations, Coffey was a member of the original Motown 'Funk Brothers' backing band and was key in bringing heavy wah wah guitar to soul and R&B during the late '60s. The canon of classics featuring Coffey's work is immense - from Temptations' 'Ball Of Confusion' and 'Cloud Nine' to Edwin Starr's 'War' and Freda Payne's 'Band Of Gold', the list is a roll-call of classic soul and R&B landmarks.

As a solo artist, Coffey is perhaps best known for a series of rare groove classics during the early '70s including the million-selling breakbeat staple 'Scorpio' and soundtrack to cult action flick 'Black Belt Jones'. Alongside producer Mike Theodore, his '70s 'Theo-Coff' productions and his prolific guitar work ranged from raw funk to classic disco, including CJ & Co's 'Devil's Gun' and The Sylvers' 'Boogie Fever'.

For 2011, Dennis Coffey's new self-titled album is a revelation, a dense, fuzz-heavy haze of incendiary psychedelic soul. Much of the set recalls the sentiments of earlier solo work such as his seminal, trippy 'Hair 'N' Thangs' album. For these sessions, in addition to a host of new compositions, Coffey personally cherry-picks tracks upon which he first appeared and enlists an illustrious guest list for all-new interpretations. Stones Throw's new soul hero Mayer Hawthorne takes up The Parliaments' poignant mid-tempo swayer 'All Your Goodies Are Gone', Fanny Franklin from killer Hollywood funk combo Orgone voices a new version of Wilson Pickett's psych-soul jam 'Don't Knock My Love' and Lisa Kekaula from California garage-soul band The Bellrays takes on the 100 Proof Aged In Soul stomper 'Somebody's Been Sleeping'. The Detroit connection looms large throughout the set - Mick Collins from the Dirtbombs alongside Detroit Cobras' Rachel Nagy unleash a dark, brooding take on Funkadelic's 'I Bet You'. UK chart sensation Paolo Nutini contributes a passionate version of Rodriguez' 'Only Good For Conversation'. Completing the list of collaborations, Milwaukee funk sensations Kings Go Forth (Luaka Bop) mould an intense funk jam around some heavy Coffey licks on 'Miss Millie'.

For his new compositions on the album, Coffey revisits the uncompromising instrumental style he is renowned for. Album opener '7th Galaxy' echoes the hard guitar 'n' breaks of his Detroit Guitar Band recordings for Sussex, 'Knockabout' whips up an epic funky soundtrack groove and 'Space Traveller' simmers on a sleazy, guitar-drenched, slo mo workout.

Track Listing

Get the FREE Adobe Flash plug-in so you can listen to this audio!
1. 7th Galaxy
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
2. Don't Knock My Love
featuring Fanny Franklin (of Orgone)
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
3. I Bet You
featuring Mick Collins (of The Dirtbombs); Rachel Nagy (of The Detroit Cobras)
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
4. All Your Goodies Are Gone
featuring Mayer Hawthorne (aka Haircut of Now On)
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
5. Miss Millie
featuring Kings Go Forth
Producers: Andy Noble
Click to listen!
6. Plutonius
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
7. Somebody's Been Sleeping
featuring Lisa Kekaula (of The Bellrays)
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
8. Knockabout
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
9. Only Good For Conversation
featuring Paolo Nutini
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
10. Space Traveller
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!
11. Don't Knock My Love (Part 2)
Producers: Al Sutton; Eric Hoegemeyer
Click to listen!

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

More Items From: Dennis Coffey & Strut Records

Reviews and Comments

Your Name:

Location (City, Country):

How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

Review This Item:

Review Guidelines:
• The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
• Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
• The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

What not to include:
• Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
• Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
• Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
• Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
Order Processing Details:
Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

PayPal Logo

Copyright ©1997-2014 LLC. All Rights Reserved.