Click Here For More Info On IDE!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM EST)

dub trio another sound is dying 0

Dub Trio: Another Sound Is Dying

Black VinylVinyl LP Record
List Price:$16.98
You Save:$2.01 (12%)
No Longer Available

(Get e-mailed if ever back in stock)

      Other Formats:
    • CD $14.99

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterEmail This

    Product Details

    • Release Date: Jan 29, 2008
    • Record Label: ROIR
    • File Under: Vinyl LPs & EPs > Reggae
    • Color: Black Vinyl
    • Barcode: 053436810712
    • Item #: ROIR8107LP


    Dub Trio's name is somewhat misleading. The group's music owes relatively little to Lee Perry, Scientist, or King Tubby; instead, they play hard rock in the vein of Helmet or even Shellac, only instrumental. But they do take dub techniques and apply them to their metallic riffs and thunderous bass, which is what vaults their music out of the pack. Reverb, echo, and disorienting panning effects are integral parts of the mix on this, Dub Trio's third studio album. Midway through opening track, "Not for Nothing," an almost Sabbathian riff is underpinned by drums that crack and boom like they've been sampled from Burning Spear's Garvey's Ghost, and space-age zaps adorn the margins of the mix even as the guitar solo spins out into the stratosphere. "Jog On" puts a scorching riff atop a drum pattern that's straight outta the dancehall, bass booms and all; "Who Wants to Die?" combines Page Hamilton-esque crunch with echoey, psychedelic accents that are pure Black Ark. The only track to feature vocals is "No Flag," and they come courtesy of Mike Patton, who's emerged as something of a patron to Dub Trio. He also contributed to one song on their previous studio disc, 2006's New Heavy; they were the backing band when he toured behind his "mutant pop" album Peeping Tom; and this disc is on his Ipecac label (all previous DT discs were on reggae/punk imprint ROIR). The change of label hasn't altered the group's approach, which makes this both a solid introduction to Dub Trio for newcomers and a welcome continuation of their journey into the space between metal and dub for existing fans.

    Track Listing

    1. Not for Nothing
    2. Jog On
    3. Bay vs. Leonard
    4. Felicitacion
    5. Mortar Dub
    6. Regression Line
    7. Who Wants to Die?
    8. Respite
    9. No Flag
    10. The Midnight Rider
    11. Safe and Sane
    12. Agonist
    13. F*** What You Heard
    14. Funishment

    More Items From: Dub Trio & ROIR

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 days after processing.
    Priority: 2 to 3 days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated 3 to 4 days after processing (shipments under 16 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated 4 to 6 days after processing.
    Flat Rate: Estimated 2 to 7 days (varies based on location) after processing.

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2016, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.