Click Here For More Info On IDE!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM EST)

jef gilson archives

Jef Gilson: Archives

Price: $16.50
Add to cart

  • Fully Licensed & Digitally Restored
Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

Product Details


Since his passing in 2012, we have surveyed the substantial personal archive of Jef Gilson's acetates, test pressings and reel to reel tapes with the kind permission of his widow, Geneviève.

The task has not been easy, it's taken numerous trips to France and the generous assistance of a small army of translators, advisors, musicologists, amateur enthusiasts and record collectors, as well as the surviving members of Gilson's musical entourage, for us to gather together the information required to make this album. In it you will find music we've chosen from having listened to literally hundreds of hours of alternate takes, rehearsals, live recordings, unissued sessions and personal recordings made from the '50s to the '70s; none of which has been officially released before.

Despite the limitations afforded by mastering some of these recordings from anonymous reels of twisted, buckled tape and scratched, dusty old acetate discs, we hope that the music contained herein affords a fascinating and otherwise impenetrable insight into the workings of one of the great unsung creative forces of European jazz.

Early experiments in Oriental and Ethnic Jazz with Lloyd Miller. Unissued alternate takes of Gilson's classic repertoire. Long-lost live performances from 1960s European jazz festivals. Rehearsals and jam sessions that developed into a lifelong creative obsession.

All tracks on this release are previously unreleased, fully licensed and digitally restored from their original source. It comes with a 24-page colour booklet that It includes comprehensive and detailed liner notes in English et en français with information on each track and original stories direct from our interviews with the musicians involved, plus previously unpublished photographs.

Track Listing

1. Bis Indicatif
2. Chant Inca (Alt)
3. Equateur
4. Lamento
5. Choro in Blue
6. Three Four One (Piano Solo)
7. Ballet Lycra 1
8. Ablution
9. Anamorphose (Live)
10. Three Four One
11. Chant Inca (Alt 2)
12. Java Pour Raspail (Live)
13. Agnus Dei
14. Requiem Pour Django
15. Java
16. Remember
17. Le Grand Bidou
18. La Cigale et la Fourmi
19. Colchique dans les prés


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

More Items From: Jef Gilson & Jazzman Records

Reviews and Comments

Your Name:

Location (City, Country):

How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

Review This Item:

Review Guidelines:
• The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
• Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
• The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

What not to include:
• Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
• Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
• Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
• Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
Order Processing Details:
Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 days after processing.
Priority: 2 to 3 days after processing.
First Class: Estimated 3 to 4 days after processing (shipments under 16 oz. are given this option).
Standard: Estimated 4 to 6 days after processing.
Flat Rate: Estimated 2 to 7 days (varies based on location) after processing.

For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

PayPal Logo

Copyright ©1997-2016, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.