Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-262-0200 (Mon-Fri 11AM-7PM EST)

 jukebox mambo rumba afro latin accented rhythm blues 1949 1960 0

Various Artists: Jukebox Mambo: Rumba & Afro-Latin Accented Rhythm & Blues 1949-1960

ImportVinyl LP Record [2LP]
List Price:$25.98
You Save:$3.01 (12%)
No Longer Available

(Get e-mailed if ever back in stock)

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterEmail This

    Product Details


    A stunning collection that sheds light on a pivotal yet totally overlooked area of American music - the influence of Afro-Cuban and Latin rhythms on R&B and Jazz during the mid-20th century. Following up on the success of our 'Jukebox Jam' album of vintage juke joint and bar room sounds, compiler and DJ Liam Large digs even deeper to put together a diverse set of dynamite R&B sides, all built around Afro-Cuban, Latin and Caribbean rhythms.

    The Blues and it's populist sister Rhythm & Blues have been visited and revisited 100s of times on 1000s of comps, but the 'Spanish Tinge' has been completely overlooked, perhaps even scorned by purists. This album stands out from the rest and the result is a set which sounds stunningly fresh and unique - a remarkable achievement itself given that the actual songs average at around 60 years old.'Jukebox Mambo' showcases an experimental era which continues to inform today's music, with Afro-Latin rhythms now completely assimilated into modern pop. The overtly sensual, exotic feel of many of these songs also continues to find an echo in modern music, and Jukebox Mambo provides a thrilling, sensual listening experience. Also included are detailed, illustrated liner notes which unveil the largely untold story of how Afro-Latin influences gradually affected Black American music during the 20th century, and in turn how this filtered into and transformed modern music thereafter.Lovingly compiled, expertly a notated, with music as interesting as it is stimulating and arresting, 'Jukebox Mambo' is a new and exciting look at the era and music which changed history!

    Track Listing

    1. Joe Lutcher - 'Ojai'
    2. Mable Scott - 'Fool Burro'
    3. Red Callender Sextet - 'Voodoo'
    4. Percy Mayfield - 'Louisiana'
    5. Larry Dale - 'Down In the Bottom'
    6. Dave Bartholomew - 'Shrimp & Gumbo'
    7. Danny Cobb - 'My Isabella'
    8. Marvin Phillips - 'Salty Dog'
    9. Fay Simmons - 'Big Joe Mambo'
    10. Gerald Wilson - 'Mambo Mexicana'
    11. Mad Man Jones - 'Snake Charmer'
    12. Lalo Guererro - 'Los Chucos Suaves'
    13. The Sultans - 'Boppin' With the Mambo'
    14. Alfredito - 'Honeydripper Mambo'
    15. Annisteen Allen - 'Take a Chance On Me'
    16. Gloria Irving - 'I Need a Man'
    17. Billy "Red" Love - 'A Dream'
    18. Faye Adams - 'The Hammer'
    19. Elena Madera - 'Pu-Chun-Ga'
    20. Cozy Cole - 'Cozy & Bossa'
    21. Camille Howard - 'Shrinking Up Fast'
    22. Joe Loco - 'Why Don't You Do Right'

    More Items From: Various Artists & Jazzman Records

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.