Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-262-0200 (Mon-Fri 11AM-7PM EST)

 only 4u the sound of cajmere cajual records 1992 2002

Various Artists: Only 4U: The Sound of Cajmere & Cajual Records 1992- 2002

CD [2CD]
List Price:$17.98
You Save:$1.48 (8%)
Add to cart

Usually ships within 3 business days.
  • Digipack
Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

Product Details


Strut proudly presents the first definitive retrospective of one of the most influential labels and producers of Chicago house music, Cajmere and the seminal Cajual Records imprint.

It started from a love of early Chicago house and as a hobby, piecing together tracks on a "sixty-buck keyboard, a cheap four-track and a cheap drum machine". Curtis A. Jones, chemical engineering student and long-time '80s video games obsessive, then left a Masters course at UC-Berkeley, returned to Chicago and unleashed his first DIY tracks on the 'Underground Goodies' EPs for ClubHouse, setting the blueprint for his early raw, cut-up production style. Soon after forming his own label, Cajual (with the CAJ taken from his initials), he unleashed the madcap, bubbling groove 'Coffee Pot' (later re-titled as 'Percolator'), a worldwide club hit.

The early years of Cajual confirmed Cajmere's reputation for gritty dancefloor perfection with the infectious, hilarious answering machine message 'Chit Chat' and his first release with vocalist Dajae on Emotive Records, who would become a regular collaborator. Their 'Brighter Days' became a definitive calling card, exploding in a host of mixes by Cajmere himself, Todd Terry and Masters At Work's Louie Vega and reaching no. 2 on the Billboard Hot Dance Music / Club Play chart.

Jones would unleash his green-haired electro-punk alter ego, Green Velvet, in 1993 and create the Relief label for this very different side to his work. Meanwhile, Cajual continued its reputation for raw quality with a collaboration with Derrick Carter, 'Dream States', and further Dajae classics ('Get Up Off Me', 'Day By Day', 'U Got Me Up'). By 1993, Jones had begun to bring the second generation of Detroit techno pioneers into the Cajual fold. Glenn Underground and Gemini both stepped up with deep dancefloor workouts - the epic 'Detroitism', 'The Wheel' and 'Le Fusion' as Cajual continued to set the underground pulse.

Although releases became more sporadic during 1995-7, the later period of Cajual set the bar high throughout. Scottish house producers Deep Sensation cameo-ed and Chicago underground favourites Mark Grant and Andre Harris both released later singles and mixes. Jones would continue as a mainstay of dance music culture, focusing on his work as Green Velvet into the new millennium. 'Only 4 U' brings together the many shades of Cajual for the first time in a definitive label overview, released in conjunction with Cajual Entertainment.

Track Listing

1. Cajmere - 'Percolator (Remastered Original Mix)'
2. Cajmere - 'Conflict'
3. Cajmere - 'Chit Chat (Clubhouse Remix)'
4. Cajmere feat. Dajať - 'Brighter Days (Louie's Masters At Work Mix)'
Producer: Louie Vega
5. Cajmere feat. Derrick Carter - 'Dream States'
6. Dajať - 'U Got Me Up (Danny Club Version)'
Producer: Danny
7. Johnny Fiasco - 'Taurus'
8. Cajmere feat. Terence FM - 'Feelin' Kinda High (Vocal Mix)'
9. Cajmere feat. Dajať - 'Get Up Off Me (Cajmere Mix)'
10. Gemini - 'If You Got To Believe In Something'
11. Dajať - 'Day By Day (Chez 'N' Trent Vocal Mix)'
12. Gemini - 'Le Fusion'
1. G.U. - 'Beyond'
2. Adam - 'Moments In Time'
3. Braxton Holmes Presents John Redman - 'People Everyday (12" Mix Basement Boys Style)'
Producer: Basement Boys
4. G.U. - 'The Wheel'
5. Deep Sensation - 'Get Together (Deep Vocal Mix)'
6. Andre Harris - 'I Can't Take It (Andre Original)'
7. Cajmere feat. Walter Phillips - 'Midnight (Original Mix)'
8. Cajmere feat. Dajať - 'Say U Will'
9. Green Velvet Presents Jamie Principal - 'LaLaLaLaLa (Nside My Mind)'
10. Cajmere & Russoul - 'Let's Dance'

More Items From: Various Artists & Strut Records

Reviews and Comments

Your Name:

Location (City, Country):

How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

Review This Item:

Review Guidelines:
• The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
• Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
• The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

What not to include:
• Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
• Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
• Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
• Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
Order Processing Details:
Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

PayPal Logo

Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.