Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 10AM-5PM EST)

 personal space electronic soul 1974 1984

Various Artists (Compiled By: Dante Carfagna): Personal Space: Electronic Soul 1974-1984

Price: $25.99
Add to cart

Usually ships within 3 business days.
    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

    Product Details


    If the independently-pressed record made the galaxy of recorded music that much larger, the burgeoning home studio became the black hole from which little escaped. Flowering in the mid-to-late '70s, affordable high-quality tape recorders, synthesizers, and simple drum machines permitted the aspiring artist to never leave his home, never request the assistance of another human being. In the world of American Black music, name artists such as Sly Stone, TimmyThomas, and Shuggie Otis had experimented with rudimentary electronic soul with a modicum of success, but on record what remains is scant. This collection presents the unheard underground of the self-produced, often solo, electronic soul world of the '70s and early '80s, offering a view into an ocean of sound that is in turn peaceful, bizarre, funky, and often humbly ahead of its time. Available as a high quality 180 gram double LP or deluxe bound book CD and features arial photography by NASA astronaut Donald Pettit.

    Track Listing

    1. Jeff Phelps - 'Excerpts From Autumn'
    2. Guitar Red - 'Disco From A Space Show'
    3. Jerry Green - 'I Finally Found The Love I Need'
    4. Key & Cleary - 'I'm A Man'
    5. Spontaneous Overthrow - 'Money'
    6. Cotillion - 'If You Give A Dance'
    7. U.S. Airies - 'Are You Ready To Come'
    8. The Makers - 'Don't Challenge Me'
    9. Tyrone Dyson - 'It's All Over'
    10. Starship Commander Woo Woo - 'Master Ship (Excerpt)'
    11. Johnny Walker - 'Love Vibrator'
    12. Jeff Phelps - 'Super Lady'
    13. Deborah Washington - 'Shortest Lady'
    14. Steve Elliot - 'One More Time'
    15. U.S.Airies - 'Are You Ready To Come'
    16. The New Year - 'My Bleeding Wound'
    17. Otis G.Johnson - 'Time To Go Home'

    More Items From: Various Artists & Chocolate Industries

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.