Click Here For More Info On Czarface!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 10AM-5PM EST)

sabrina malheiros new morning

Sabrina Malheiros: New Morning

Price: $15.97
No Longer Available

(Get e-mailed if ever back in stock)

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

    Product Details


    Following her best-selling debut album 'Equilibria', singer-songwriter Sabrina Malheiros returns with 'New Morning', an album of 21st century bossa - soul that mixes bossa, samba, disco and house together to create a sophisticated and sublime album.

    'New Morning' is what Sabrina Malheiros describes as a 'more organic' follow up to the critically acclaimed 'Equilibria'. Armed with a strong calibre of musicians, Sabrina Malheiros embarked on a rite of passage that resulted in an album that can only be described as a masterpiece. Sabrina Malheiros is a highly accomplished young musician who has a musical heritage that is deeply rooted in Brazilian musical history. As the daughter of Alex Malheiros, the bassist from the legendary Azymuth; Sabrina is clearly under no illusion as to the influence this had in her musical journey. 'With my father in Azymuth and my grandfather with Sergio Mendes, I have always been surrounded by the samba beat!'

    New Morning features an all-star Brazilian team including: Jose Roberto Bertrami, Ivan Conti, Zé Carlos, Idriss Boudrioua and Paulinho Braga as well as legendary Brazilian arranger and composer Arthur Verocai. The album was produced by Daniel Maunick (DJ Venom son of Bluey's from Icognito band) who also produced Sabrina's previous album, yet the production on this album shows Maunick's evolution into a highly versatile and skilful producer. Sabrina admits 'He's very eclectic musically and I have to confess I have learnt a lot...even in relation to Brazilian music."

    With '70s inspired sweeping samba-soul songs nestled in between boogie-tinged jazz, house rhythms and funky cinematic-bossa breaks and featuring the unmistakable vocals of Sabrina, 'New Morning' sees Rio's original nu-bossa star recreate the honesty of her debut but with a new sense of maturity and sophistication. The album erupts with the bubbling bossa samba hybrid 'Brisa Mar' with lyrics co-written by her father Alex Malheiros which were inspired by the sea. This track alongside 'Sintonia' reflects the powerful partnership of Sabrina's writing abilities combined with the grand string arrangements of the renowned Arthur Verocai resulting in songs that would sit comfortably in any classic film score. Sabrina recalls "Arthur Verocai arranged some of my songs...I discovered a like-minded spirit". This connection between the two musicians from different generations sets a true precedent for the album.

    The first single to be taken from this album is 'Connexão' which was also one of the first tracks to be written for this project. This offering of cool, sexy rhythmic house features the prominent afro-samba guitar playing of Ze Carlos evoking the swing of Jorge Ben. This song is a commentary on the living conditions in Rio: "The world has a romanticised view of Rio...but the violence, misery and poverty detract from all this beauty". The up-tempo house beats juxtaposed with the energetic strings make a perfect song for the Balearic terraces as well as dancefloors around the world- a true summer anthem for 2008! Expect a plethora of remixes of 'Connexão' and various other cuts from the album in a range of different styles later this year.

    Track Listing

    1. Brisa Mar
    2. Nova Estação
    3. Sintonia
    4. New Morning
    5. Além Do Sol
    6. It's Too Late
    7. Essa Canção
    8. Eira Nem Beira
    9. Connexão
    10. Sem Pressa
    11. Vou Voar
    12. Nuances

    More Items From: Sabrina Malheiros & Far Out Recordings

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.