Click Here For More Info On EDO.G!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 10AM-5PM EST)

 shapes 1201 0

Various Artists (Compiled By: Robert Luis): Shapes 12:01

ImportCD [2CD]
Price: $8.99
Add to cart

Usually ships within 3 business days.
    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterEmail This

    Product Details


    "The home of top quality music... every single release seems to be extraordinary"

    "Eclectic and vibrant...This week's label of love is the excellent Tru Thoughts"

    "Tru Thoughts has become one of the most stellar leftfield independent labels around"

    The latest in Tru Thoughts' series of essential label compilations, compiled by A&R and label owner Robert Luis, "Shapes 12:01" is out now on double CD and double LP.

    The compilation brings the best of the current sound of the label, with a handful of upfront exclusives and cuts previously only available on other formats, as well as a few classic sounds for good measure.

    Artists include Quantic & Alice Russell with the Combo Bárbaro, Belleruche, Zed Bias (aka Maddslinky), Mark de Clive-Lowe, Hint, The Bamboos, Lanu, Anchorsong, Wrongtom, Omar, Hidden Orchestra, Sleepin' Giantz and many more. The music and artists on this compilation have seen recent support across the full gamut of musical and cultural print and online press, as the profile and standing of Tru Thoughts as one of the UK's foremost independent labels continues to rise. Daytime and specialist radio play, sessions, interviews, mixes and features have this year featured on: BBC R1, BBC 1Xtra, BBC R2, BBC R3, BBC 6Music, Choice FM, XFM, BBC Scotland, BBC London, The Selector, Ministry of Sound Radio, Solar Radio, BBC R4, NPR, KCRW, Pulse Radio, Solid Steel, Monocle 24, Resonance FM and many more.

    Robert Luis elaborates on some of the delights to be found within this collection, in his liner notes:

    This 29 track compilation features the latest sounds from Tru Thoughts covering a variety of styles and tempos. The first CD opens with Ambassadeurs taking the deepness of Nostalgia 77 into an electronic soul direction. Then come much-loved songs from Belleruche and Mark de Clive-Lowe's excellent albums, followed by idiosyncratic electronica from Japanese artist Anchorsong, and a disco flavour with Lanu's Remix of Kylie Auldist. There's raw soul from Skeletons and The Bamboos (covering James Blake), and Quantic covers Missy Elliot Cumbia style. On a reggae influenced tip, there is music from Wrongtom, Flowering Inferno and Benji Boko. Zed Bias features on the production of the talented Croatian singer and string arranger Yannah Valdevit, plus you'll find a big track from Hidden Orchestra's second album.

    The second CD has a more club orientated feel, with Behling & Simpson reworking Quantic & Alice Russell for those heavy and deep club sessions while Zed Bias takes his own Soul II Soul cover down the UK Garage route; Drumagick add an authentic Brazilian take to the UK's bass music genre whilst Hint brings Jamaican vocalist Natalie Storm to an East End warehouse rave. Cottam gives a building groove of relentless Afro house goodness, and Omar & Zed Bias's carnival anthem is impossible to stay still to, as is the hugely in demand Sleepin' Giantz track.

    Track Listing

    Disc 1:
    1. Nostalgia 77 - 'Sleepwalker (Ambassadeurs Remix)'
    Producer: Ambassadeurs
    2. Belleruche - 'Wasted Time'
    3. Mark de Clive-Lowe feat. Nia Andrews - 'The Why'
    4. Anchorsong - 'Darkrum'
    5. Skeletons feat. Alice Russell - 'Adam And Eve'
    6. The Bamboos feat. Megan Washington - 'The Wilhelm Scream'
    7. Wildcookie (Freddie Cruger aka Red Astaire + Anthony Mills) - 'Heroine'
    8. Maddslinky feat. Tawiah - 'Further Away (Falty DL Remix)'
    Producer: Falty DL
    9. Zed Bias Presents Yannah Valdevit - 'Gotta Keep Me Goin'
    10. Hidden Orchestra - 'Reminder'
    11. Kylie Auldist - 'Changes (Lanu Extended Mix)'
    Producer: Lanu (aka Lance Ferguson of The Bamboos)
    12. Benji Boko feat. Ricky Rankin - 'No. 1 Sound (Beta Hector Remix)'
    Producer: Beta Hector
    13. Wrongtom Meets Deemas J - 'Crime Times'
    14. Quantic y Su Conjunto Los Míticos Del Ritmo - 'Get UR Freak On'
    15. Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno feat. Nidia Góngora - 'No Soy Del Valle (Nickodemus & Zeb Remix)'
    Producers: Nickodemus; Zeb (aka The Spy From Cairo)
    16. Kinny - 'Big Fat Liar'
    17. Quantic & Alice Russell w/ The Combo Bárbaro - 'Here Again'
    Disc 2:
    1. Quantic & Alice Russell w/ The Combo Bárbaro - 'Magdalena (Behling & Simpson Remix)'
    Producers: Behling; Simpson
    2. Zed Bias feat. Jenna G - 'Fairplay (Zed Bias Old Skool Mix)'
    Producer: Zed Bias
    3. Nostalgia 77 - 'Sleepwalker (Lanu Remix)'
    Producer: Lanu (aka Lance Ferguson of The Bamboos)
    4. Drumagick - 'Swing Samba'
    5. Hint feat. Natalie Storm - 'Crash And Burn (Hint Club Mix)'
    Producer: Hint
    6. Sleepin' Giantz - 'Badungdeng'
    7. Cottam - 'Hit The Wall (Frustration)'
    8. Omar & Zed Bias - 'Dancing'
    9. Randomer - 'Zabu'
    10. Maddslinky feat. Omar - 'Special (MJ Cole's Back To The Future Remix)'
    Producer: MJ Cole
    11. The Colonel feat. MC DRS - 'Can I Get Some'
    12. Riz MC - 'All Of You (dBridge's Sound System Mix)'
    Producer: dBridge

    Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

    More Items From: Various Artists & Tru Thoughts Recordings

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.