Click Here For More Info On Czarface!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 10AM-5PM EST)

 shapes circles

Various Artists (Compiled By: Robert Luis): Shapes: Circles

ImportCD [2CD]
Price: $11.50
Add to cart

Usually ships within 3 business days.

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

    Product Details


    The latest in Tru Thoughts' series of essential label compilations, compiled by A&R and label co-owner Robert Luis, "Shapes: Circles" is out on double CD, double LP (with full 2CD insert) and digital, on 26th August.

    The compilation brings the best of the current sound of the label across 30 tracks, including a handful of remixes, upfront exclusives including a newie from brand new signing Titeknots, and an upfront album track from rising soul sensation Harleighblu and cuts previously only available on other formats, as well as the odd stone cold classic.

    Serving to reinforce Tru Thoughts' reputation as home to a diverse array of talent, the artists showcased here include Alice Russell, Quantic, Ty, London Posse, Zed Bias & Skream, The Bamboos & Aloe Blacc, Hot 8 Brass Band, Belleruche, Hint, Anchorsong, Wrongtom, Hidden Orchestra and many more. The music and artists on this compilation have seen recent support across the full gamut of musical and cultural print and online press, as the profile and standing of Tru Thoughts as one of the UK's foremost independent labels continues to rise. Daytime and specialist radio play, sessions, interviews, mixes and features have this year featured on: BBC R1, BBC 1Xtra, BBC R2, BBC R3, BBC 6Music, Choice FM, XFM, BBC Scotland, BBC London, The Selector, Ministry of Sound Radio, Solar Radio, BBC R4, NPR, KCRW, Pulse Radio, Solid Steel, Monocle 24, Resonance FM and many more.

    Robert Luis elaborates on some of the delights to be found within this collection, in his liner notes:

    The first CD opens with Natural Self's epic take on Electrelane's "The Valleys". Fresh yet classic soul follows from Harleighblu, a 21-year-old singer who has just recently signed to Tru Thoughts; followed by a truly beautiful track from Alice Russell's current album. Excellent hip hop is high on the menu, from Ty with the MTV playlisted "Like You Never"; Hint with an '80s soul leaning hip hop remix of his own popular cut featuring T-Fly; and Rodney P's anthemic reggae influenced track "Live Up". Wrongtom and Deemas J continue the reggae and dancehall theme with a big party tune from their debut LP. In the world of inspired covers, Hot 8 Brass Band re-imagine The Specials' classic "Ghost Town" via New Orleans; and Quantic takes a Pete Rock & CL Smooth classic into Cumbia territory. Immersive spiritual jazz comes from Menagerie, whilst Japan's Anchorsong combines live strings with deft and original production on the MPC sampler.

    CD2 is more club orientated, kicking off with an exclusive from brand new Tru Thoughts signing Titeknots, who opens proceedings with a heavy and building deep bass groove. King Britt takes Hidden Orchestra's multilayered orchestration into his unique dancefloor space. Brazil's Drumagick add their pure percussive take on proceedings whilst Mark de Clive-Lowe and the Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra inject the big band with big electronic bass, for a fresh new form. The dancefloor reggae and ragga is provided by Hint and Natalie Storm reworked by C.O.N.E.; and Benny Page tearing it up jungle style with a huge remix of Wrongtom & Deemas J. Zed Bias and Skream define the meaning of the low-end with their aptly titled "Badness" track, and UK supergroup Sleepin' Giantz aka Zed Bias, Rodney P and Fallacy take no prisoners with "Raving Bully".

    Track Listing

    DISC 1:
    1. Natural Self feat. Tanya Auclair, Milly Blue - 'The Valleys'
    2. Harleighblu - 'Let Me Be'
    3. Alice Russell - 'Twin Peaks'
    4. Belleruche - 'Wasted Time (Ross PTH Remix)'
    5. Ty - 'Like You Never'
    6. Mark De Clive-Lowe feat. Nia Andrews - 'We Renegades'
    7. Anchorsong - 'Plum Rain'
    8. Hint feat. T-Fly - 'Aliens Enter (Hint Remix)'
    9. Hot 8 Brass Band - 'Ghost Town'
    10. Quantic & Alice Russell With The Combo Barbaro - 'Magdalena (Acoustic Version)'
    11. Menagerie - 'The Chosen'
    12. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo - 'They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y)'
    13. Wrongtom meets Deemus J - 'Jump + Move + Rock'
    14. Rodney P feat. The Peoples Army & Mighty Moe - 'Live Up'
    15. The Bamboos feat. Aloe Blacc - 'Where Does The Time Go? (Si Tew Take It Back Remix)'
    16. Wildcookie (Freddie Cruger + Anthony Mills) - 'Tuesday Is Friday'
    17. Kinny - 'Floating Zzzzzz'
    DISC 2:
    1. Titeknots - 'Mind Open'
    2. Hidden Orchestra - 'Vorka (King Britt Remix)'
    3. Mark De Clive-Lowe feat. Omar, Sheila E - 'Get Started (Full Crate Remix)'
    4. Yannah Valdevit & Lay-Far - 'Empty Heart'
    5. Maddslinky feat. Mr. Scruff - 'Dub Is For Real'
    6. Drumagick - 'Maracatu'
    7. Mark de Clive-Lowe & The Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra - 'Take The Space Trane'
    8. Hint feat. Natalie Storm - 'Crash And Burn (C.O.N.E Remix)'
    9. Wrongtom meets Deemus J - 'Jump + Move + Rock (Benny Page Remix)'
    10. Sleepin' Giantz - 'Raving Bully'
    11. Riz MC feat. Aruba Red, Plan B - 'All Of You'
    12. Zed Bias - 'Badness feat - 'Skream'
    13. London Posse - 'Money Mad (Drumagick D Step Remix)'

    More Items From: Various Artists & Tru Thoughts Recordings

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.