Click Here For More Info On IDE!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM EST)

skatalites stretching out vol 2 0

Skatalites: Stretching Out Vol. 1

CD [2CD]
Price: $17.99
Sold Out

(Get e-mailed if/ when back in stock)

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterEmail This

    Product Details

    • Release Date: Jan 20, 1998
    • Record Label: ROIR
    • File Under: CDs > Reggae
    • Barcode: 053436823729
    • Item #: ROIR8310CD


    Sometime after the terrific U.K. ska revival exploded in Britain, led by the revered Specials, English Beat, Selecter, Bodysnatchers, Bad Manners, and (early) Madness, these 1963-1965 Jamaican founding fathers came back for a well-deserved bow. Reuniting eight out of their nine members (the other was deceased), with several flying in from the U.S. and England, the one and only good-time instrumental band, the Skatalites, returned in 1983 to the Kingston streets where they'd helped found the genre. Caught live at the Blue Monk Jazz Gallery during this brief reunion, ROIR's cassette-only release in 1986 was a happy pleasure. Now here 'tis on CD, with five songs from the same July 17, 1983, show added for good measure, necessitating two discs. This is how fans and historians like it: complete and lively. Pre-reggae Jamaican ska was much faster, peppier, and danceable, and the standard-issue, thrilling, clipped R&B horns ensured an upbeat flavor at all times. Additionally, with their lead-part jazz-styled horn solos anchored on the rocksteady groove and long, hypnotic, and festive jams, the Skatalites were and are guaranteed to spice up any blue mood, and "Freedom Sounds" and "Guns of Navarone" retain the original bounce and a smile that music can't often manage without pretense. A few more Skatalites have also sadly died, and another has retired after triple-bypass heart surgery, meaning 1983 was everyone's last chance for the original (making Stretching Out doubly documentary). However, music this positive, played this well, will never die.

    Track Listing

    Disc 1:
    1. Freedom Sounds
    2. Bridge View
    3. Latin Goes Ska
    4. Tear Up
    5. Guns of Navarone
    6. Man in the Street
    7. Come Dung
    8. Big Trombone
    9. Ska Ba
    10. Road Block
    11. Eastern Standard Time
    12. Confucius
    Disc 2:
    1. Lee Harvey Oswald
    2. Black Sunday
    3. Mood for Ska
    4. Fidel Castro
    5. El Pussy Cat
    6. Four Corners
    7. Exodus
    8. Old Fowl
    9. Fidel Castro
    10. Welcome Back Home

    More Items From: Skatalites & ROIR

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 days after processing.
    Priority: 2 to 3 days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated 3 to 4 days after processing (shipments under 16 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated 4 to 6 days after processing.
    Flat Rate: Estimated 2 to 7 days (varies based on location) after processing.

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2016, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.