Click Here For More Info On IDE!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM EST)

sounds of the city experience

Sounds Of The City Experience: Sounds Of The City Experience

Re-Issue ImportCD
Price: $16.50
Add to cart

  • w/ Bonus 16 Page Color Booklet + 3 Unreleased Tracks
  • Jazzman Holy Grail Series
Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

Product Details


One of the eternal issues of record collecting is the question of how good records actually become rare.

Perhaps the record company goes bust. Perhaps the label is busy pushing some lame pop act on the roster, leaving the good stuff to rot. Maybe the band splits up just before the release. Less frequent than any of these is this: perhaps the record wasn't supposed to sell in the first place. As strange as it seems, that was exactly the case with this album, the Sounds of the City Experience.

In our Holy Grail reissue of the highly-sought after Sounds of the City Experience LP on notorious tax-scam label Tiger Lilly, we interview the producer Mario Sprouse and find out exactly why this album is so rare. We discover and disclose the story behind the band and why they made these high-quality recordings which were never intended for release. Discover all this in our detailed liner notes, along with previously unseen pictures of the band in action.

Soul and funk from the early '70s from this multi-racial band out of the Bronx. These guys played for fun, understanding and mutual respect no pressure from the record company to make a hit record = positive vibes and freedom. And it shows!

CD comes with 16 page colour booklet with previously unseen photos AND 3 previously unreleased bonus tracks PLUS comprehensive liner notes from our interviews direct from the musicians involved. All tracks fully licensed and digitally restored from the original master tapes. Otherwise only available as a super rare $1500 LP!

Track Listing

1. Getting Down
2. Through No Fault of our Own
3. It's so Wonderful Baby/Gina
4. Come on and Stay with Me
5. Stuff n Thing
6. Keep on Keepin' On
7. Babylon
8. Reality
9. Judgement Day
10. My People
11. Baby It's The End (CD Only Bonus Track)
12. Jam Session (CD Only Bonus Track)
13. Look at Billy Go For Her (CD Only Bonus Track)

More Items From: Sounds Of The City Experience & Jazzman Records

Reviews and Comments

Your Name:

Location (City, Country):

How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

Review This Item:

Review Guidelines:
• The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
• Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
• The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

What not to include:
• Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
• Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
• Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
• Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
Order Processing Details:
Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 days after processing.
Priority: 2 to 3 days after processing.
First Class: Estimated 3 to 4 days after processing (shipments under 16 oz. are given this option).
Standard: Estimated 4 to 6 days after processing.
Flat Rate: Estimated 2 to 7 days (varies based on location) after processing.

For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

PayPal Logo

Copyright ©1997-2016, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.