Click Here For More Info On Red Pill!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 8AM-4PM EST)

 strange breaks mr thing

Various Artists (Compiled By: Mr. Thing): Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing

ImportCD [2CD]
Price: $14.99
No Longer Available

(Get e-mailed if ever back in stock)

    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

    Product Details


    The raw, chunky sound of the 60's and 70's has long been the foundation of hip-hop music. From RUN DMC rapping over Bob James loops to Kanye West chopping up Dorothy Ashby, it is the inimitable sound of the past which gives sample-based music its punch and sonic diversity. Given the long standing dominance over the beat digging landscape by vintage funk and soul records, it is the rare aficionado who is still able to mine the vaults of recorded music for gems which remain fresh and undiscovered, yet are able to stand along side the established classics. Mr. Thing is just that rare individual. Rising to acclaim through several prestigious DJ battle titles with his crew the Scratch Perverts, Mr. Thing has remained an international DJ sensation, touring regularly and holding a residency at Fabric, one of the world's top dance clubs. He has also remained a dedicated producer and collector, continuing to scour dusty record bins for overlooked treats, and soon-to-be-classic breaks. In the tradition of its Strange Games and Funky Things series (including entries from Kenny Dope and DJ Spinna) BBE's Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing gives the listener a true connoisseur's dream. Each of the tracks included is a fresh discovery. The tracks have been mixed, scratched, nd doubled up by the hands of a master turntablist, and are also available in their full, un-mixed form. This release demonstrates why rare breaks remain an integral part of hip-hop culture, and proves that there are still overlooked gems of the highest quality to be found. It just takes a master.

    Track Listing

    Get the FREE Adobe Flash plug-in so you can listen to this audio!
    Disc 1: Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing (Unmixed)
    1. Sky King - 'Why Don't You Take Us'
    Click to listen!
    2. The Heads Of The Family - 'Troubled People'
    Click to listen!
    3. The Discoettes - 'Yes We Can Can'
    Click to listen!
    4. Bergendy - 'Tramp-Reszlet'
    Click to listen!
    5. Blackbuster - 'Shack Up'
    Click to listen!
    6. Leaf - 'Food Stamps'
    Click to listen!
    7. Soulful Illusion - 'Soulful Illusion'
    Click to listen!
    8. Bob Ashcroft - 'Percumatics #11'
    Click to listen!
    9. Brother Lloyd's All Stars - 'Tramp'
    Click to listen!
    10. Lloyd Charmers - 'I'm Gonna Love You Just A Little Bit More'
    Click to listen!
    11. Original Tropicana Steel Band - 'Calypso Rock'
    Click to listen!
    12. Emphasis - 'Rocking Bird'
    Click to listen!
    13. Chain Reaction - 'Hogtied'
    Click to listen!
    14. The Honey Drippers - 'Streakin'
    Click to listen!
    15. James K-Nine - 'Live It Up'
    16. David Batiste & The Gladiators - 'Funky Soul Pt. 1'
    17. Society Of Seven - 'Superstar (Remember How You Got To Where You Are)'
    18. Daniel J. White - 'Boxe Et Violence'
    19. Yan Tregger - 'Black & Blue'
    20. The Crystal Mansion - 'Boogie Man'
    21. New Hope - 'Godofallofus'
    22. Orchestr Josefa Vobruby - 'Preludium Cis Moll'
    23. Steve Smith - 'Tighten Up'
    24. (Disc 2: = Mixed Version)

    Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.