Click Here For More Info On Jedi Mind Tricks!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-652-8222 (Mon-Fri 10AM-5PM EST)

 the cool aid benefit album deluxe edition

Various Artists: The Cool-Aid Benefit Album (Deluxe Edition)

Vinyl LP Record [2LP]
Price: $27.50
Add to cart

Only 1 left in stock
Usually ships within 3 business days.
    Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

    Product Details


    At the end of the 1960's, there was a house in Vancouver that was a home solely for Hippies and homeless youth; it was known to locals as "the Cool Aid House." When the Canadian government withdrew funding in 1970, the house was in danger of closing. All of the top bands in the Vancouver area offered to record songs for a benefit album-and since the local music scene produced some of the best bands in Canada, the album that resulted was stunning; it has long been a much sought-after collector's item. What no one knew until recently was that the original "Cool Aid Benefit Album" was intended as a two-record set: contractual problems with Capitol Records forced Cool Aid House founder John Walsch to drop tracks by Mother Tucker's Yellow Duck-tracks that are now restored to this package. Other cuts include the strange proto-electronic burbles of Mock Duck (quite unlike almost everything else they ever recorded) on 'As the Bullet Enters Anton' and 'Pointillistic Scherzo'; the vicious snarl of Black Snake's 'Carousel,' and the strange Spalding Grey-ish acoustic song/poem 'The Planet Man.' Hydro Electric Street Car have left little behind them, but their lovely 'High Memory' sounds like a lost Grateful Dead track from their early, dreamy period. A terrific discovery!

    The end result of the joint efforts of Light in the Attic and Lion Productions is this deluxe 2xLP package, jam-packed with stand-out music by Vancouver's top bands of the day: Mother Tucker's Yellow Duck, Papa Bear's Medicine Show, Mock Duck, Hydro Electric Streetcar, Route Nine, Blacksnake Blues Band, Nancy, Spring, and Greydon Moore and Leo Jung. Obscure cuts available nowhere else, in a wide variety of styles: weird electronic sounds, heavy garage fuzz guitar freakouts, stoner rock, and acoustic folk.

    - Limited edition hand-numbered 2xLPs (housed in old-style tip on gatefold jacket)
    - Lovingly remastered from the original multi-track studio tapes
    - Includes liner notes and original artwork from The Cool Aid House

    Track Listing

    1. Spring - 'Bring Yourself Down To Earth Lovin Blues Baby'
    2. Route Nine - 'Girl Of The Night Suite'
    3. Blacksnake - 'atfish'
    4. Black Snake - 'The Reason'
    5. Mock Duck - 'Pointilistic Scherzo'
    6. Mock Duck - 'Do Re Mi'
    7. Mock Duck - 'As the Bullet Enters Anton'
    8. Golden Girl - 'Papa Bear's Medicine Show'
    9. Hydro Electric Streetcar - 'I Realise'
    10. Hydro Electric Streetcar - 'Gardens and Flowers'
    11. Mock Duck - 'Borrowed Song'
    12. Mother Tucker's Yellow Duck - 'Mountain Joy'
    13. Hydro Electric - 'High Memory'
    14. Mother Tuckers Yellow Duck - 'I'
    15. Spring - 'Wordplay'
    16. Nancy - 'No Time / Got A Feeling'
    17. Blacksnake - 'Carousel'
    18. Mock Duck - 'Hastings East'
    19. Greydon Moore And Leo Jung - 'The Planet Mat'

    More Items From: Various Artists & Light In The Attic Records

    Reviews and Comments

    Your Name:

    Location (City, Country):

    How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

    Review This Item:

    Review Guidelines:
    • The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
    • Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
    • The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

    What not to include:
    • Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
    • Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
    • Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
    • Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
    Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
    Order Processing Details:
    Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
    Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
    First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
    Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
    Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

    For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

    PayPal Logo

    Copyright ©1997-2015, LLC ® and, LLC ®. All Rights Reserved.