Shopping Cart

<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]
<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]
<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]
<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]
<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]
<!--120141014064964-->Brian Coleman - 'Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies' [Book]

Brian Coleman

Check The Technique Vol. 2: More Liner Notes For Hip Hop Junkies




Product Details
  • Oct 14, 2014
  • 544
  • 7.5" X 9.75"
  • 9780990307600
  • WAXF0200BK
  • 57.1 oz
  • new (we only sell new items)
  • Wax Facts Press
  • Brian Coleman
Why the hell didn't hip-hop albums have liner notes????!!!!

It's a sad fact, but it can't be denied: since the genre's earliest platters on wax, hip-hop album notes have been reduced to a list of producer and sample credits, a publicity photo or two, and some hastily composed shout-outs (if we were lucky). This lack of information has robbed fans of a deeper context that would help them enjoy their favorite classics even more.

For more than a decade, one man has been out to correct this musical and historical injustice, one album at a time. Since the publication of his first book Rakim Told Me: Hip-Hop Wax Facts, Straight from the Original Artists journalist Brian Coleman has given hip-hop fans around the world the opportunity to be a fly-on-the-wall in conversations he has had with some of the artform's most talented and colorful subjects. His latest installment, the follow-up to the acclaimed Check the Technique, continues this path, with 25 new albums discussed in-depth, ranging from Ice Cube's AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted and Raekwon's Only Built 4 Cuban Linx to DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince's He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper, Mos Def's & Talib Kweli's Are Black Star, and Company Flow's indie rap classic Funcrusher Plus. The format is simple: One chapter, one artist, one album. Blow-by-blow and track-by-track, delivered straight from the artists who produced classics. And whether you peruse the chapters in chunks over time or devour the book all at once, fans are guaranteed to revel in these conversations, reliving their favorite albums from hip-hop's "Golden Age." Featuring over 80 interviews, with more than 325 songs discussed and dissected, this is a book that will give years of enjoyment to any music fan.

"My circle of liner notes junkies runs deep, and we spend many hours dissecting the chapters in Brian Coleman's Check the Technique series. FINALLY someone has put in perspective the stuff I have been DYING to know about!!!! I can't get enough."
Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson

"A fantastic guide for all we do."
Chuck D

"I thank The Gods for Brian Coleman who, more than anyone, has reported, recorded and preserved the stories behind some of the greatest creative moments in American culture. Wu-Tang may have been for the children, but Brian Coleman's work is for the grandchildren and great-grandchildren, so that our descendants may know how majestic Hip-Hop's Golden Age truly was, in the same way we now revere blues and jazz."
- Dan Charnas, author of The Big Payback: The History of the Business of Hip-Hop and Def Jam: The First 25 Years of the Last Great Record Label

"Check the Technique Volume 2 is a wild and brilliant hip-hop history, told in the first-person by some of the music's most important architects. A lot of folks have written good books about hip-hop, but few have given as much back to the culture as Brian Coleman."
- Adam Bradley, author of Book of Rhymes: The Poetics of Hip Hop and co-editor of The Anthology of Rap

Brian Coleman is a music journalist and historian who has previously authored two acclaimed, nonfiction music books: Check the Technique: Liner Notes for Hip-Hop Junkies (Villard / Random House, 2007; Shinko [Japan], 2008) and Rakim Told Me: Hip-Hop Wax Facts, Straight From the Original Artists. The '80s (Wax Facts Press, 2005). Before that, he promoted avant garde jazz and moonlighted as a hip-hop journalist for more than a decade, contributing hundreds of articles and reviews to publications including XXL, Scratch, Wax Poetics, URB, CMJ, the Boston Herald, Metro Newspapers, and many more.

Full chapters list for Check the Technique Volume 2: More Liner Notes for Hip-Hop Junkies:
1 - 3rd Bass - The Cactus Album
2 - The Beatnuts - Intoxicated Demons The EP
3 - Black Sheep - A Wolf In Sheep's Clothing
4 - Company Flow - Funcrusher Plus
5 - The Coup - Steal This Album
6 - Diamond and the Psychotic Neurotics - Stunts, Blunts & Hip Hop
7 - DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince - He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper
8 - Dr. Octagon - Dr. Octagonecologyst
9 - ED O.G & Da Bulldogs - Life Of A Kid In The Ghetto
10 - Gravediggaz - Niggamortis [aka 6 Feet Deep]
11 - Ice Cube - AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted & Kill At Will
12 - Jeru The Damaja - The Sun Rises In The East
13 - KMD - Black Bastards
14 - Kool G Rap & DJ Polo - Wanted: Dead Or Alive
15 - Kwam Featuring A New Beginning - The Boy Genius
16 - Lord Finesse & DJ Mike Smooth - Funky Technician
17 - Mantronix - The Album
18 - Masta Ace Incorporated - SlaughtaHouse
19 - Mos Def & Talib Kweli - Are Black Star
20 - Naughty By Nature - Naughty By Nature
21 - Nice & Smooth - Ain't A Damn Thing Changed
22 - [Chef] Raekwon - Only Built 4 Cuban Linx...
23 - Smif-N-Wessun - Dah Shinin'
24 - Stetsasonic - In Full Gear
25 - Various - Wild Style Breakbeats

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review