Shopping Cart

<!--020130910059325-->Kirk Degiorgio Presents - 'Sambatek' [CD]

Kirk Degiorgio Presents





Get emailed if/when back in stock

Product Details
  • Sep 10, 2013
  • Electronic
  • 5060211501593
  • FARO176CD
  • 2.8 oz
  • new (we only sell new items)
  • Far Out Recordings
From legendary techno don, veteran producer and long time Far Out contributor Kirk Degiorgio, comes 'Sambatek'. Sourced from classic samba drum breaks and organic percussive elements, this album transposes the essence of 'ritmos do Brasil' into the late night peak time techno soundscape Kirk has enriched for over 20 years. A collection of pulsating, evolving and unrelenting techno stormers, 'Sambatek' is accompanied by remixes from a worldwide cast of established and up & coming producers appearing on the Far Out imprint for the first time.

As ever Kirk Degiorgio brings his A game to this release for the Far Out family. From the dark, ethereal, Berlin-esque sonics of the album opener, to the housey Detroit-infused stabs of TRACK D and the booming warehouse rave ethic of Track E, this album showcases Kirk's passion for these two traditionally disparate musical genres coalescing into the symbiotic rhythmic experience of 'Sambatek.' With a career spanning over two decades Kirk has come far from his upbringing in East London. Creator of the label ART (Applied Rhythmic Technology) in the 80's, Kirk released the early works and productions from B12, Carl Craig, Aphex Twin, The Black Dog, Photek, Stasis amongst others. Kirk's own productions and remixes throughout these past two decades have been also released by such labels as Mo Wax, Planet E, Ubiquity, Versatile, Peacefrog and many more.

Keeping intact his soul boy roots Kirk reflects a Detroit sound incorporated with funk, jazz and soul influences which has resulted in a series of projects working under such aliases: As One (which made the Muzik top 30 in 1994/95), Offworld (Full LP on Far Out), Esoterik, Elegy and Super-A-Loof. Remixing artists as varied as Azymuth, Coldcut, 4 Hero, Innerzone Orchestra, Papo Vasquez and many more proving his musical spectrum has no boundaries. This project is accompanied by remixes from BNJMN, Rick Wilhite, Jonas Kopp, NX-1 and Spatial, all of whom are new and welcome to the label's roster. Kirk Degiorgio's project will be showcased during his world tour in the summer of 2013, where he will be performing the tracks on various stages across the globe, accompanied by female percussionists.
Track Listing