Shopping Cart

<!--120121009048436-->Various Artists - 'Brownswood Electrc 3' [CD]
<!--120121009048436-->Various Artists - 'Brownswood Electrc 3' [CD]
<!--120121009048436-->Various Artists - 'Brownswood Electrc 3' [CD]
<!--120121009048436-->Various Artists - 'Brownswood Electrc 3' [CD]

Various Artists

Brownswood Electrc 3





Product Details
We released the first Brownswood electr*c compilation in June 2010. The idea was to round up a selection of our favourite electronic music at that time, from the likes of Mosca, Shlohmo, 16bit and Mount Kimbie. All were relative newcomers to the electronic music scene at this point. These days you can find Mosca presenting on BBC Radio 1 under the "In New DJs We Trust" banner; Shlohmo remixing Drake & The Weeknd (officially!); 16bit producing Bjork; and Mount Kimbie basking in the glow created by their universally acclaimed debut LP - 'Crooks & Lovers'. The album was a great snapshot of the perpetually shifting and evolving electronic music spectrum that we love so much.

The following year we unveiled further excursions in the dance music underground courtesy of a fresh crop of talent on Brownswood electr*c 2. From Ta-ku's exuberant HudMo-esque headbanger 'Hey Kids' through blissful widescreen panoramas courtesy of Monky, DJ Dials and Koreless and on to the menacing sub-low mechanics of DJG and Stray, it was another sterling showcase of the breadth, depth and quality of the music circulating in the Worldwide underground in 2011.

And so we're back with a third chapter in the electr*c series and a new batch of artists innovating in dance music's grey areas. Alex Patchwork is on compiling duties once again, alongside Tom McCarthy (Black Atlantic / Earnest Endeavours) and the pair has unearthed another remarkable assortment of underground talent.

Jammed with exclusive, previously unreleased material - the rewards of endless online trawling, Soundcloud sifting and Bandcamp rummaging - Brownswood electr*c 3 unveils brand new heat from Kidsuke (Kidkanevil and Daisuke Tanabe's new project); the hotly tipped Djrum with Shadowbox on vocal duties; Brighton based duo Anushka (on a gorgeous Moodymann trip); The Risks (a Monolithium / Hrdvsion collaboration); Metabeats (Darkhouse Fam / C.R.S.T.); Jaded Laur (repping Glasgow's All Caps crew); Plezier; Aftawerks; Russian king of the beats BMBxSpaceKid; and Frank Rodas.

Opening and closing proceedings respectively are Krampfhaft - the Dutch producer behind one of the most exciting (and slept-on) EPs of last year via Rwina Records - and Dub Phizix feat. Fox, whose twisted bashment-infused riddims command respect (and rewinds) from the likes of David Rodigan as much as dBridge. In simple terms Never Been is one of the biggest sound system killers of 2012, and we're delighted to be able to include this exclusive VIP version. Also featured is Pomrad from Antwerp's Ooh Wee clique - working the angles on a frenzied, bouncy West Coast funk tip.
Track Listing & Audio