De La Soul is a trio based out of Long Island, comprised of members Posdnous, Dave and Maseo.  The group first formed in high school back in 1987. Early on, De La caught the eye of producer Prince Paul, with a demo version of the song “Plug Tunin’,” helping to further establish their reputation and refreshing potential. Their debut album, 3 Feet High and Rising (released via Tommy Boy Records and Warner Bros. Records), is hailed as one of the best rap albums in history, with some even referring to it as a “hip-hop masterpiece.” While their debut was their biggest commercial success, the group went on to influence many more artists well above their pay grade, including the likes of Mos Def. In 2006, the group won a Grammy award for their work on the Gorillaz single, “Feel Good Inc.,” and in 2010, their debut album was added to the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry. The Registry selects records annually that are culturally, aesthetically or historically significant. After releasing eight studio albums traditionally through a label, De La Soul turned to crowdsourcing in order to fund their 9th record via Kickstarter. The project, And the Anonymous Nobody, was released in 2016, with a majority of its nearly sample-free tracks hailing from improvised jam sessions. The group scored a nomination for Best Rap Album at the 59th annual Grammy Awards. De La Soul’s legacy continues with their clever lyricism, expert sampling, lighthearted personalities, and inspiration from beyond rap’s parameters to craft their distinctive, feel-good sound.


Related Products

Shop DOOM Bundle Merchandise in our Store Shop Now